The Algoma University Act of 2008 outlines and establishes the role of Senate in the direction and operation of the University. The Senate is responsible for the educational policy of the University and may enact by-laws and regulations for the conduct of its affairs. For more information on the role and operation of Senate, please view the Academic Senate By-Laws (PDF).

Members of the Senate

Members of the Senate Executive Committee ( include:

  • Speaker of Senate: Dr. Paul Dupuis
  • Alternate Speaker: Dr. Laurie Bloomfield
  • President and Vice-Chancellor: Asima Vezina
  • Vice-President, Academic & Research
  • Academic Dean: Dr. Donna Rogers
  • Humanities Rep: Dr. Linda Burnett
  • Social Science Rep: Professor Pelham Matthews
  • Sciences Rep: Dr. Cheryl Reed-Elder
  • Registrar: David Marasco
  • Secretary: David Marasco

Senate Meeting Schedule and Minutes: 2017 – 2018

Senate meetings are held in the Doc Brown Lounge (EW 205), at 1pm. Meeting minutes will be posted here as they become available.

2017 Senate Meetings

2018 Senate Meetings

Friday, June 2

Minutes (PDF)

Friday, January 12

Minutes (PDF)

Friday, September 8

Minutes (PDF)

Friday, February 2
Friday, October 6

Minutes (PDF)

Friday, March 2
Friday, November 3

Minutes (PDF)

Friday, April 6
Friday, December 1

Minutes (PDF)

Friday, May 4
Friday, June 1

For more information on past minutes, please view our Past Minutes section.