Home > About Algoma > Leadership Team

Senior Leadership Team

Algoma University’s senior leadership team is committed to the University's special mission and student success.

The University is governed by two bodies, the Board of Governors and the University Senate. The Senior Executive are in charge of the university’s operations as a whole. Learn about the individuals who lead Algoma University.

Senior Executive

The Senior Executives are in charge of the university's operations as a whole. Learn about the individuals who lead Algoma University.

Home of the President

Asima C. Vezina
President and Vice-Chancellor

The President is the chief executive officer of the University and has supervision over and direction of the academic and general administration of the University, its students, managers, teaching staff and non-teaching employees.

Get to Know
Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for the government, conduct, management, and control of the University and its property.

Learn More
The Senate

The Senate is responsible for the educational policy of the University and may enact by-laws and regulations for the conduct of its affairs.

This includes making recommendations to the Board to establish, modify or terminate programs and courses of studies; advises the president on faculty staffing needs; appoints the Academic Dean and Faculty and Department chairs; determines curriculum and academic standards; conducts examinations and hears appeals; awards bursaries and scholarship.

Learn More
Our Chancellor

Mario Turco has been appointed as Algoma University’s second Chancellor for a four-year term beginning September 1, 2020.

The Chancellor of the University is the titular head of the institution and confers all degrees. The Chancellor is a Board member and acts as an ambassador for the University.

Get to Know
Institutional Organization Chart/Medicine wheel

The medicine wheel is a universal symbol amongst Indigenous people on Turtle Island.

It represents and teaches many things about ourselves, our families, communities, nations and how we connect to the earth, sky and the spirit world. For the Anishinaabek, our laws are placed within the medicine wheel, and there are four main laws that we are taught to live by.  These laws are represented by the four directions: West – Minaadizowin (Kindness) – we are taught to be kind to ourselves and each other; North – Gwekaajimowin (Honesty) – to be straight with each other; East – Gwekidodimowin (Sharing) – to share our kindness honesty with each other; South – Zongizowin (Strength) – we practice these laws to be strong and happy. To make our medicine wheel move, we practice these laws together every day so we can have a future.

View Organizational Chart
Latest News