Home > Students > Anishinaabe Students > Anishinaabe Peoples’ Council

Anishinaabe Peoples’ Council

The Anishinaabe Peoples’ Council (APC) has a collective responsibility to represent the needs, and aspirations of the Anishinaabe people and Anishinaabe students at Algoma University.

The Council functions as a committee of the Board of Governors and oversees the development of Anishinaabe academic, research, and support services; long range and annual action plans; the hiring of personnel; the development and recommendations of policies for the management of Anishinaabe support services and programs; as well as monitoring these funding initiatives. Local First Nations and Anishinaabe organizations are represented on the Anishinaabe Peoples’ Council.

Voting Members
  • Ms. Christine Sayers: Batchewana First Nation
  • Ms. Anne Marie Jones: Garden River First Nation
  • Ms. Marnie Yourkchuk: North Shore Tribal Council
  • Ms. Cathy Syrette: Indian Friendship Centre
  • Ms. Fran Scheepmaker: Metis Nation of Ontario
  • Ms. Evelyn Theriault: Neech-ke-When Homes
  • Ms. Paige Riley: SASA Student Representative
  • Ms. Lori Rainville: Children of Shingwauk Alumni
  • Mr. Mitch Case: Historic SSM Metis Council
  • Vacant: AU Anishinaabe Alumni
Ex-Officio Representatives (Non-Voting Members)
  • Dr. Celia Ross: President of Algoma U
  • Dr. Richard McCutcheon: Academic Dean (replacing VPAR)
  • Mr. Mark Nogalo: Acting Chair of AU Board
  • Professor Paul Dupuis: Speaker of Senate
  • Ms. Amy Sayers: Shingwauk Education Trust