Governing Bodies

Algoma University is governed by two bodies: the Board of Governors and the University Senate.

The Board of Governors is comprised of between 12 and 30 individuals, and is responsible for the government, conduct, management, and control of the University and its property.

Representation on the Board includes:

  • The President of the University (appointed by the Board)
  • Three members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council who are not students, members of the teaching staff, nor non-teaching employees of the University
  • One faculty member elected by faculty
  • One student (elected)
  • One non-teaching employee (elected)
  • Members of the community

For more information, view the Board of Governors webpage.

The Senate is comprised of representatives from the full-time and part-time faculty, the administration, the staff, the students, the Board of Governors, the Anishinaabe People’s Council, and the President of Shingwauk Kinoogaame Gamig.

For more information, view the Senate webpage.

Members of both the Board of Governors and the University Senate are volunteers.